Bettisfield was built by Sir John Hanmer in 1873-4, using Grinsall stone throughout, and is the work of the eminent Victorian architect G. E. Street.
It was Lord Hanmer, newly elevated to the peerage, who paid the first curate, the Rev. Joseph Dobel, his stipend. The first organist, Miss Fanny Leghfields Welshampton, was regarded as one of the finest organists in England. Bettisfield is renowned for its two magnificent stained glass windows, made by one of the pre-eminent specialist firms of the 19th-century, Clayton & Bell.
The fully working bell tower is of equal interest, especially to experienced ringers who are always welcome to experience its full circle ring, with demonstrations arranged by prior appointment. Originally hung by Taylors of Loughborough in 1874, and more recently renovated by the very same company, the treble bell is 4cwt 7lbs, the number 2 bell 4cwt 14lbs, and the Tenor 5cwt 56lbs. A quarter peal has been rung three times since the renovation.
Post CodeSY13 2 Grid Reference SJ461356 2.483 W 52.55 N
More information www.bettisfieldpcc.com
Download individual information sheets of each of the churches or the whole set of 16 churches in the Open Church Network.