Temporary Closure 27 January - 14 February 2010
St. Dunawd was the distinguished Abbot of a huge 7th-century monastery, noted for the slaughter of 1200 monks by the Anglo-Saxons in 615AD. In approximately 1300 a red sandstone building was erected on what remained of the monastery, of which the chancel still stands.
From 1723 - 26 the architect Richard Trubshaw oversaw extensive rebuilding, including the bell tower which now houses six bells, four dated 1727 and the fifth and sixth 1865. In 1832 the north aisle was altered, in 1869 the south aisle was extended to form the present day baptistery, and in 1913 the vestry was built and the organ repositioned. Discover graves and memorial plaques dating from 1300, a font dating from 1500, and beautiful stained glass windows. Beneath the pulpit are fragments of stone from the old Bangor Cross.
The new Visitor Centre relates some of the fascinating history of the area. Listen to the stories told by the monk, and imagine what life would have been like in Bangor on Dee in the 7th-century.
Post Code LL13 0 Grid reference SJ 388453
Download individual information sheets of each of the churches or the whole set of 16 churches in the Open Church Network.