The small church stands set well back from the modern A539 road through Penley and opposite the village school with its thatched roof. The present church building is a simple design of sandstone bricks from Abenbury. The roof of red clay tiles has a bellcote at the west end and a simple cross at the east. A foundation stone at the foot of the southeast corner is dated 1899. The same attractive simplicity is found inside. Discover representations of Mary Magdalene and scenes from Pilgrim’s Progress in stained glass.
The front gate is in a wall replaced when the road was straightened in 1968. The new path provided at that time leads directly to the church porch. It crosses the site and vaults of the churches of the 15th century and 1794 at an area clear of memorials. To your left by the War Memorial are some 62 graves of Polish babies and infants. Most of the graves are unmarked. These children were born to parents in a poor state of health after the ravages of World War II and concentration camps, disease and malnutrition. The continuing Polish presence and integration into the community of Penley is evident throughout the churchyard.
Post Code LL13 0NN, OS Reference SJ413400
Entered 7th August 2009 by Bill Barlow
Download individual information sheets of each of the churches or the whole set of 16 churches in the Open Church Network.